Faculty Awards

We are proud to have among our ranks some of the top educators and researchers in the field.

Congratulations to Professor S. Rao Jammalamadaka, recipient of the 2016-2017 UCSB Outstanding Graduate Mentor award.

Congratulations to Prof. Ian Duncan, recipient of SOA 2016 Outstanding Volunteer Award!

Dr. Roger Hayne is elected Vice President of the CAS International for the 2016-2017 year

Interview with Professor Ian Duncan (pp. 56-61)

Professor Ian Duncan is one of eight experts interviewed by New York Times

Dr. Jammalamadaka receiving Honorary Fellowship of the Indian Society of Probability and StatisticsProfessor Jammalamadaka was awarded an Honorary Fellowship of the Indian Society for Probability and Statistics at an International Conference at Tirupati, India on Nov.30, 2014. On his right is the Director of the Indian Statistical Instt., Kolkatta, and on his left, the Secretary in the Ministry of Statistics, Govt. of India. ISPS followship award.

Congratulations to Tomoyuki Ichiba, winner of the 2014 SIAG/FME Junior Scientist Prize! photo

An Interview with Professor Jammalamadaka on Statistics as a Discipline and his Career

Professor Jean-Pierre Fouque is appointed as the Editor-in-Chief for the SIAM Journal on Financial Mathematics, starting January 1, 2015.

India International Friendship Society, New Delhi has awarded Professor S. Rao Jammalamadaka the “Bharat Gaurav (Pride of India) Award” for the year 2014 for his research and professional accomplishments.

NBC News Science quotes professor Jammalamadaka. Read more

Professor Jean-Pierre Fouque is named to Treasury Department Advisory Committee on Financial Research. Read more.

Professor Jammalamadaka is the recipient of an Honorary Doctorate from the Faculty of Forest Sciences, the Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Sweden, in an elaborate ceremony held on October 6, 2012. The citation reads, in part, "Professor Jammalamadaka is a very well-known statistician with broad research interests which include both theoretical and applied statistics. His contacts with researchers in Sweden and at the Faculty of Forest Sciences over the past 25 years, resulted in significant research with practical impact as well as several Ph.D. theses at the Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences." Former recipients of this Honorary Doctoral degree in Forestry include His Majesty Carl XVI Gustaf, King of Sweden, and Ingvar Kamprad, Swedish business magnate and the founder of IKEA.

Professor Ian Duncan, FSA FIA FCIA MAAA, has been elected to the SOA Board of Directors.

We are pleased to announce that Dawn E. Holmes and Lakhmi C. Jain (Eds) have published Data Mining: Foundations and Intelligent Paradigms: Volume 2:

Statistical,Bayesian,Time Series and other Theoretical Aspects.

We are pleased to announce that Dawn E. Holmes and Lakhmi C. Jain (Eds) have published Data Mining: Foundations and Intelligent Paradigms: Volume 1: Clustering, Association and Classification.

S. Rao Jammalamadaka received a Distinguished Service Award from the International Indian Statistical Association (IISA) with the citation "For distinguished contributions to Statistics and dedicated service to the Association". He served as its President, the Chair of several Program Committees, and most recently as the Chair of the Nominations Committee.

Jean-Pierre Fouque has been named a Fellow of the Society for Industrial & Applied Mathematics, SIAM.

Congratulations is in order for Dawn Holmes on her elevation to IEEE Senior Member. This is an elite group in IEEE, Institute of Electrical & Electronic Engineers, which recognizes significant professional technical accomplishments.

We are pleased to announce that S. Rao Jammalamadaka has been honored with Advances in Directional and Linear Statistics: A Festschrift for Sreenivasa Rao Jammalamadaka. This volume of papers published by Springer-Verlag, consists of articles written by students, colleagues, and collaborators from over 20 countries and covers a variety of research topics of particular interest to him.

Congratulations is in order for Michael Ludkovski, he has been elected Program Director of the SIAM Activity Group in Financial Mathematics.

Professor Jean-Pierre Fouque, Director of the CRFMS, has been elected Fellow of the IMS (Institute of Mathematical Statistics) and Chair of the SIAM (Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics) Activity Group on Financial Mathematics and Engineering (SIAG/FME), Spring 2009.

Congratulations to Professor S Rao Jammalamadaka who was named as an adjunct professor at the C.R. Rao Advanced Institute for Mathematics, Statistics, and Computer Science at the Central University of Hyderabad, India.

We are pleased to announce that Professor Dawn Holmes along with Lakhmi C. Jain (Eds) have published, Innovations in Bayesian Networks: Theory and Applications.

Congratulations to Dr. Dawn Holmes, honored with 2007-08 Distinguished Teaching Award by the UCSB Academic Senate. The Distinguished Teaching Award acknowledges the efforts of Senate faculty members who have successfully united teaching and research.

Professor David Hinkley's paper, "Bootstrap diagnostics and remedies" (joint with A. Canty, A. Davison, and V. Ventura) was awarded the 2006 Canadian Journal of Statistics Prize for outstanding paper.

Professor Yuedong Wang Elected Fellow of the American Statistical Association 2006.