Student Awards

Congratulations to 2018 Wawanesa Scholarship winners: Tiffany Chang and Andrew Freedman

Stephanie Lee, Class 2019, received the first place for her presentation at the 2018 Actuarial Research Conference. Her poster was placed second. Ben Ku and Rahul Narula’s poster won the third place. Congratulations!

We are proud of Shannon Nicponski'17 ! Her presentation at ARC 2017 received an honorable mentioning.

Congratulations to 2017 Wawanesa Scholarships Winners: Karla Orocio Baez, Kristy Cheng, Andrew Freedman, Ariel Huang, and Syen Yang Lu

Congratulations to PSTAT Alum Loren Nickel!

Congratulations to Wawanesa Scholarships Winners: Zariluz Alvarado, Benjamin Ku, Stephanie Lee, Amanda Mazanians, and Ganesh Tilve

Nhan Huynh, Class 2016, received the first place prize for her presentation at the 2016 Actuarial Research Conference. Congratulations!

Congratulations to our actuarial students Stephanie Lee, Myranda Flores and Anthony Castillo, winners of the 2016 Actuarial Diversity Scholarship awarded by The Actuarial Foundation!

Congratulations to Nhan Huynh'16, Dylan Robbins-Kelley'16, and Holly Fallah'16, awarded Honorable Mention for their poster presented at the UCSB Undergrad Research Colloquium!

Congratulations to Gary Wang, Class 2016, selected for the SOA Student Summer Internship Program!

Congratulations to Annie Dong, Class 2016, BS/MS in Actuarial Science, recipient of the 2015-2016 Dean of Undergraduate Education Award in CL&S

Congratulations to 2016 Rama Thogarati Award Winners: Isaac Bjorke, Mason Delalla and Elizabeth Riedell

Dr. Nicklas Karlsson is a recipient of the UCSB Mechanical Engineering 2015 Alumni Award. Dr. Karlsson holds two degrees from UCSB: Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering and M.A. in Statistics.

Congratulations to our 2014 winner of the Wald Prize: Ya Luo.

Congratulations to Sun Jung, Class 2016, recipient of 2014-15 Steven Vaziri Scholarship in Statistical Programming.

Congratulations to Jimmy Risk, 2015-16 SOA James C. Hickman Scholar.

Congratulations to the 2015 Rama Thogarati Prize winners: Faris Barudi and Chloe Watson.

Congratulations to Kyle Bechler, finalist for the SIAG/FME Conference Paper Prize.

Alex Terenin, Class 2014, Student Commencement Speaker.

Congratulations to Michael Nava, nominated for and Awarded the 2013-2014 GSA Excellence in Teaching Award Honorable Mention from UCSB Graduate Division.

Congratulations to Cody Pulliam,  winner of the ARC 2014  poster presentation:  “Pure Premium Trend Analysis for Auto and  Home Insurance Coverages.”

Congratulations to Ruimeng Hu, the recipient of the 2013 Abraham Wald Memorial Prize.

Congratulations to Alexander Terenin, Class 2014, Statistical Science, Student Commencement Speaker and the recipient of the 2013-14 Dean of Undergraduate Education Award in the CL&S.

Congratulations to 2014 Rama Thogarati Prize winners: Allie Moat and Alex Terenin.

Congratulations to Andrew Mackenzie '13 and Tiffany Sun '13, winners of the 48th Actuarial Research Conference (ARC) Presentation Prize.

Congratulations to Daniel Mena-Martinez, Class 2013, Student Commencement Speaker.

Congratulations to 2013 Rama Thogarati Prize winners: Daniel Mena-Martinez, Matthew Rainey and Michael Logonov.

Michael Loginov wins the 2012 ARC Presentation Prize!

Congratulations to 2012 Rama Thogarati Prize winners: David Graham and Casey Hahn.

Congratulations to our undergraduates, Dario BiasiniFilip Branitchev and Garth Johnson, and their mentor, Prof. Mike Ludkovski, whose research project "Pricing Options on Life Insurance"
won the first prize at the 2011 Undergraduate Research Colloquium in the area of Science/Engineering. Sponsored by the College of Letters and Science, UCSB.

Congratulations to Ryan Doria, the Rama Thogarati Prize winner! The award, commemmorating Statistics graduate student Rama Thogarati, who died in an airplane accident, is awarded annually to a graduating senior for high academic achievement.

Congratulations to our 2010-2011 Robert & Barbara Lowes Scholarship recipients, Joshua Harwood and Dario Biasini.

Graduate student Li-Hsien Sun received the Abraham Wald Memorial Prize for his excellence in graduate study in 2009.

Congratulations to our 2009-2010 Lowes Scholarship recipients: Adi Dror & Eric Buron.

Graduate students Qunying Shen and Bin Ren both received the Abraham Wald Memorial Prize for their excellence in graduate studies in 2008.  Douglas Vestal was awarded the Ruth and Joe Gani Prize for his dissertation research.

The 2007-08 Ruth and Joe Gani Prize was awarded to Deepali Paradkar. The Gani prize is awarded to a graduate student for best dissertation.

Congratulations to the winners of the 2007-08 Lowes Scholarship: Christie O'Hara and Lindsey Aspel. The Lowes Scholarship is awarded each year to outstanding Financial Mathematics and Statistics majors.